Embracing Hygge

Semester in Copenhagen

Samantha Parmenter

Being someone who did not have the opportunity to travel much as a child, I always jump at any chance I get to travel and embark on new adventures. When learning that I was able to study abroad, I excitedly went into a deep spiral of research on where I should go for the semester. I found that I was especially drawn to the lifestyle and culture in Copenhagen, Denmark. Coming from an environmental academic background, I was very eager to learn more about the ways that the Danes incorporate sustainability into their lives being one of the most sustainable cities in the world. Little did I know at the time that choosing Copenhagen was the best decision I could have made!

When I first stepped into Copenhagen, I was genuinely shocked to see the amount of bikes on the road. There were even cargo bikes with boxes attached to them for carrying children, groceries, and any heavier items that typically could not be transported on bikes. To best integrate myself in the culture, I decided to join the Danes in making biking my main mode of transportation. Before my stay in Copenhagen, I could not remember the last time I rode a bike. I will admit that biking in a city where so many experienced people are on the road was daunting at first, but you get used to it quickly!

Some of my favorite memories in Copenhagen actually turned out to be riding my bike to campus with my friends on Tuesdays and Fridays. I grew so attached to my bike that I was saddened to return it at the end of my stay. Now that I am back in the United States, I miss the infrastructure that made biking as a form of commuting much more prioritized and normalized.

Another thing I observed about Copenhagen was how the warm weather brought so much life to the city. During my initial solo expedition, I strolled through the park adjacent to my dorm and witnessed crowds of people gathered for picnics and outdoor socializing. The canals were also bustling with people taking dips in the water and lounging on wooden platforms to soak up the sun. Observing people relishing and making the most of the weather was a beautiful thing to witness, and it filled me with admiration for the city. To me, this felt nothing close to the fast-paced lifestyle I normally live in the United States. It made me realize how important it is to slow down sometimes, take time for myself, and appreciate how beautiful life can be!

Being a San Diego native, I have never truly experienced seasonal weather in all its glory. As someone who is used to warm California weather year-round, I was cautioned by many about the cold winters in Copenhagen. Although it did get quite chilly, I now contend that living in Copenhagen during the winter season reveals a different kind of warmth. The holiday lights and decorations added a particular allure to the city, making it even more enchanting in its own way. Christmas markets also popped up around town, with booths selling holiday foods and handcrafted trinkets. I soon came to learn that this charm that took over the city can be described as “hygge”. Although there is not a direct translation for this word in English, it could best be described as a feeling of coziness, comfort, and togetherness that is an integral way of life in Danish culture. Although Danes embody this concept year-round, hygge became all the more apparent to me witnessing the beauty of the city in the winter time!

Although I believe that Copenhagen is the perfect city to study abroad in, I also credit having such a positive experience to the amazing friends I made while here! Some of my first friends abroad were in the UCEAP program, and it was very comforting to have that sense of home, Before my stay in Copenhagen, I could not remember the last time I rode a bike. I will admit that biking in a city where so many experienced people are on the road was daunting at first, but you get used to it quickly!

Samantha Parmenter recently graduated from UC Berkeley with a major in Society and Environment. In the future, she is looking to pursue a career with a non-profit organization to serve communities who are disproportionately impacted by the effects of climate change. In her free time, she loves thrifting and going to the beach!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started