Summer in Copenhagen

Malena Buffagni

Studying abroad at the University of Copenhagen through UCEAP will always be an unforgettable experience for me. I wanted to study abroad in a Nordic country because of their focus on sustainability and to learn about their way of life. I chose Denmark because of their leadership worldwide in sustainability.

Luckily, I got to Copenhagen in the summer, so I was able to experience the canal culture and explore the city while the weather was still nice. The first two months were great and everyone was overflowing with energy. The streets and canals were full of people of all ages looking to soak up the sun.

Biking through the city is still one of my favorite memories. I got a beach cruiser from a company called SwapFiets which rents out bikes and was set for the semester. I love how easy it is to bike everywhere with bike paths going even next to the freeway. One day I biked from my house all the way out of central Copenhagen to where the Technical University of Denmark is. It was super difficult but I made it! And, I had bike paths the whole time. Now being back in Berkeley, I still bike but I feel like I’m in danger of either being hit by a car or of running over a pedestrian constantly.

If I could go back and change something, I would change where I lived. I lived in a studio apartment in a neighborhood called Bispebjerg. Looking back, I should have stayed more downtown and in a shared apartment or a more social student housing. I would go out downtown all the time even during the winter but I think I would have met more people if I lived in more social dorms.

Interning at Actory was one of my favorite parts of studying abroad. The opportunity allowed me to grow professionally, and I also found a welcoming community of international and Danish colleagues, which helped ease my transition into Danish culture.

The internship allowed me to gain real-life, hands-on experience in sustainability organizing. I am pursuing a double major in Environmental Economics & Policy and Society & Environment at UC Berkeley. My internship with Actory was a perfect starting point for learning how I can educate others on sustainability and how it can be promoted and discussed within a student body. Additionally, I learned about myself during the teamwork process. At first, I had a difficult time delegating tasks and knowing when to step in and when to allow my team to work the problem out amongst themselves. However, towards the middle of the semester, I felt I had found a balance and could be both a mentor and a team member. In the future, I am considering working in sustainability consulting, for an environmental non-profit, or attending law school to be an environmental attorney. The skills I gained in team management will be extremely valuable in any career I choose.

Overall, my experience working at Actory allowed me to gain leadership skills, grow professionally and personally and helped center which fields of sustainability I would like to explore. It was one of the highlights of my exchange, and I would not change even a moment of the experience.

Thank you to the Nordic Center for giving me the opportunity to study abroad. I will never forget it!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started